

The Oughtred Society Hall of Fame 1992 - 2008

All Oughtred Society Award Winners since 1992

For outstanding contributions to the world community involved with slide rules and historical calculating instruments

1992 Rodger Shepherd	2002 Michael O'Leary
1993 Robert K. Otnes	2003 Herman van Herwijnen
1994 Conrad Schure	2004 Klaus Kühn
1995 IJzebrand Schuitema	2005 Thomas Wyman
1996 Colin Barnes	2006 Walter Shawlee II
1997 Dieter von Jezierski	2007 Rodney Lovett
1998 Heinz Joss	2008 Joe Soper
1999 Peter M. Hopp	2008 Panagiotis Venetsianos
2000 Hans & Irene Dennert	2008 Otto van Poelje
2001 Andrew D. Davie	

AWARD CONSIDERATIONS for All Oughtred Society Award Winners 1992 - 2008

YEAR	AWARD WINNER	CONSIDERATIONS
2008	Otto Van Poelje	for his many contributions to the OS Journal and Slide Rule Gazette, his continuous contributions to the Dutch "Kring" and international organizations, as Regional Director-Europe, for serving as a member of the Board of Directors of the Oughtred Society and for taking a leading role in all the International Meetings held in The Netherlands
2008	Panagiotis (Pano) Venetsianos	for his work in collecting Gauge Mark names and values and for the publication of the "Pocketbook of the Gauge Marks"
2008	Joe Soper	for sharing his knowledge and experience as ex-employee of Keuffel & Esser in articles and in his book "K&E Salisbury Product Division Slide Rules" on Design and Production of Slide Rules, especially the Deci-Lon

YEAR	AWARD WINNER	CONSIDERATIONS
2007	Rodney Lovett	for creating in 2004, maintaining and extending a number of powerful and user-friendly online databases and search engines, to look for many facets of slide rule information: Literature Search and Retrieval, eBay Search, ISRG and Forum Archive, and more recently Herman's Archive. These information services have made the accumulated slide rule knowledge widely available to every collector, anytime and anywhere
2006	Walter Shawlee II	for drawing over the past 10 years more than half a million visits to his striking website "Slide Rule Universe", combining with commercial offers a wealth of information on slide rules and their operation, manuals, brands, types, construction, maintenance and history, thereby encouraging many beginning slide rule enthusiasts. Also for his support of The Oughtred Society by promoting the Society in his website activities and by his involvement in the OS Slide Rule Reference Manual
2005	Thomas Wyman	for researching the history of slide rules, for authoring many articles in the <i>Journal of the Oughtred Society</i> and for serving the Society as Member and Officer, since 1997 as President
2004	Klaus Kühn	for rallying German slide rule collectors into the Rechenschieber Sammler Treffen group, for his leading role in the organization of the International Meeting IM2001 in Munich and IM2004 in Bad Driburg, and for initiating and co-editing the comprehensive reference book "Dennert & Pape / ARISTO 1872 – 1978"
2003	Herman van Herwijnen (1929-2004)	for co-founding the Dutch Circle and for collecting over some 15 years data and images of many thousands of slide rules and publishing this treasure of information in the digital "Slide Rule Catalogue"
2002	Michael O'Leary (1951-2003)	for stimulating and moderating internet discussions on the "International Slide Rule Group" knowingly and kindly, and for researching and publishing comprehensive studies and catalogues, especially on Keuffel & Esser and Pickett slide rules
2001	Andrew D. Davie	for starting the first major slide rule website "Slide Rule Trading Post" and the "Slide Rule Forum" discussion group on the internet, reaching many hundreds of international slide rule collectors with highlights like the first slide rule emulator, the Soviet calculators collection, and the "slide rule with digital display" hoax
2000	Hans (1926-2000) & Irene Dennert	for preserving, organizing and sharing the extensive Dennert / ARISTO archive and collection with museums and collectors, and for intensively supporting, publishing and presenting studies of the history of their company
1999	Peter M. Hopp	for writing his extensive reference book on slide rules, for his organizational activities in the UKSRC and United Kingdom-based International Meetings, for co-editing the "Slide Rule Gazette", and for publishing many diverse research studies and articles
1998	Heinz Joss	for his research and publications especially on Swiss slide rules and for his leading role in the organization of the International Meeting IM1998 in Huttwil
1997	Dieter von Jezierski	for writing the first modern book on slide rules, for his substantial role in the organization of the International Meeting IM1997 in Stein, and for sharing his wide expertise acquired as collector and as former employee at Faber-Castell in numerous research publications and communications

YEAR	AWARD WINNER	CONSIDERATIONS
1996	Colin Barnes	for rallying slide rule collectors into the United Kingdom Slide Rule Circle, for research and publishing of many articles, facsimiles and transcriptions of originals, for editing the "Skid Stick" magazine, the "Slide Rule Gazette", and for his substantial role in the organization of the International Meeting IM1996 in Cambridge and later meetings
1995	IJzebrand Schuitema	for organizing slide rule collectors into the Dutch Circle, for his impressive series of national and international expositions and research publications, and for his leading role in the organization of the first International Meeting IM1995 in Utrecht and later meetings
1994	Conrad Schure	for researching the history of slide rules, for authoring many articles since the early 1990s in the <i>Journal of the Oughtred Society</i> , for serving the Society as Regional Advisor and since 2000 as Treasurer, and for organizing and hosting the Society's East Coast Meetings for many years
1993	Robert K. Otnes	for co-founding The Oughtred Society, for starting and publishing the <i>Journal of the Oughtred Society</i> and for building it as Editor and often as author over the past 14 years into the quality publication which is now The Oughtred Society's flagship product, and for extensive research of the history of slide rules
1992	Rodger Shepherd	for co-founding The Oughtred Society, for starting and publishing the <i>Journal of the Oughtred Society</i> in the early years, for major contributions in organizational activities, and for research, Journal papers and continent-bridging translations

All Oughtred Society Fellowships since 1992

For substantial contributions to The Oughtred Society or to National Organizations

1992 - 2005

Howard W. Andrews	Bruce E. Babcock	Colin Barnes
Rick Blankenhorn	Brian Borchers	Cyril B.J. Catt
Jim Cerny	Edwin J. Chamberlain	Andrew D. Davie
Robert de Cesaris	Gary Flom	Alex E. S. Green
Peter Holland	Peter M. Hopp	Ted Hume
Dieter von Jezierski	Heinz Joss	Craig Kielhofer
Robert Koppany	Klaus Kühn	Wayne Lehnert
Rodney Lovett	Dennis Maack	Kate Matthews
David D. McFarland	Robert K. Otnes	Osborne Price
Paul Ross	Thomas A. Russo	Robert J. Sauer
IJzebrand Schuitema	Conrad Schure	Walter Shawlee II
Rodger Shepherd	Joseph Soper	Otto E. van Poelje
Panagiotis Venetsianos	Thomas Wyman	

Deborah Douglas	Michael Konshak	Clark McCoy
John Mosand	William K. Robinson	Werner Rudowski
Richard Smith Hughes		

none

Joseph Bento	Clay Castleberry	Barry Dreikorn
Chris Hakkaart	Karl Kleine	Ron Knapp
Günter Kugel	Brian Lloyd	Tom Martin
Steven Mays	Jerome McKenna	David Rance
Simon van der Salm		